Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Les miettes des idées
Les miettes des idées
Publicité
Les miettes des idées
Archives
18 mai 2016

Try a less easy way

   I finally got my evaluation of Toefl, which confirmed my self-evaluation of English proficiency. I did well in reading and listening. As to the speaking part, I had problem in pronunciation and my vocabulary was limited. The writing part was also terrible, since I just wrote an essay with simple phrases and common words. 

   I've been here for 4 months. If I don't change my learning habits, I will never surpass my deficiency in English. For my daily life, I have no problem in understanding others. But when I try to express myself, I always use simple words. The communication was smooth because of lots of other facts, as the clearness of context, the gesture. 

  My ten years' experiences in teaching French show me the same situation in many students. We always have more difficulties to improve our writing. Although students can easily communicate with foreigner at the end of the first year, most of them remain in daily small talks. If you ask them to do a presentation or an analysis, they will feel frustrated to make it as good as native speakers. 

  Why? There are so many good materials to help us to achieve progress. I think that the main problem is our laziness. We tend to seek the easiest way to express ourselves, thinking that the complex structure is a deal for writers. As for me, I wrote my blog in English, using often common daily communication words. I never tried to rewrite things neither to improve the accuracy. 

  It's not the time that can decide our progress. We cannot take it for granted. If I live here longer and continue to neglect the hard part of learning, I will always stay outside the barrier of a good command of foreign language. It's the mindset that needs to be changed.   

  So I should take an intensive training to improve my writing and try to write everthing with accuracy and variety.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité